About us

About us

Since 1994, protel has been one of the world's leading providers of hotel management software. Our technology and service solutions are developed at protel's headquarters in Dortmund, Germany and distributed through a global network of business partners. Our motto: Experience meets innovation. Our drive: Providing our customers with the most efficient solutions! The result: Technology that's fun! Our cloud and on-premise solutions continue to set new standards in the hospitality industry - whether at the front office, in online sales, or with role-specific apps for hotel managers and their teams.

Our departments

Product Development

The Product Development Department consists of our Development teams with over 100 employees, and the Product Management team with around 15 employees. Our Development teams work according to the agile Scrum method. This enables us to react quickly to new requirements or trends, develop technically demanding and versatile products, and continuously promote exciting projects. Our product management team consists mainly of hotel employees. They are responsible for the further development and maintenance of the hotel product solutions and work side by side with the support and sales teams. While keeping their ears open to the drums of the market, they ultimately make the difference with their broad knowledge and understanding of the product. This is how we achieve the defined goals today - from analysis and planning to the final market launch - for the solutions of tomorrow.

Support

Solution-oriented. Our broad-based support and installation team with over 100 product experts in Dortmund, Leipzig, Vienna, and Atlanta installs, trains, and offers the best customer service and support for protel's entire product line. We offer 1st-level support for thousands of direct customers, mainly in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg, and North America, as well as 2nd-level support for our world-wide network of over 40 partner organizations. We also offer technical and product-specific training to our own employees, partners, and customers at our protel Academy. This ensures that our support quality always remains at a consistently high level.

Business Development

Our Business Development is responsible for the strategic and operational development of the company, accompanies the predominantly large customers from the first sales phase to the provision of the software, and remains a continuous contact partner beyond that. The team has access to a large, international network and, together with the sales team, represents the company at trade fairs. The aim is to assume responsibility in every respect for high-quality sales consultations, detailed rollout planning and execution, escalation management, and preventive support measures. Contact with the customer is our top priority - this is the only way to fully exploit potential.

Marketing

To the point and target group oriented. Marketing is a central aspect of our corporate management - and elementary for our market orientation. Our Marketing department concentrates on the following three core areas: 1. to discover impulses that ignite the hotel industry; 2. to create testimonials to carry the protel message out into the world; 3. to monitor the effectiveness of the protel message through analyses. Only in this way can we constantly advance and optimize the protel message.

Sales

Competent and strategic sales. Our Sales team drives the distribution process - from lead generation through to the successful completion. Our customers and the efficient design of the sales processes is always in focus. Whether in the consultation and implementation of product presentations for new and existing customers, or at national/international trade fairs, we are the permanent contact for contracts, offers and products. This forms the interface to internal departments and worldwide sales partners.

Administration

Our Administration department is made up of three divisions. The Orders team is responsible for processing orders, creating licenses, and calculating all orders - working closely with our Sales team. The accounting team takes care of invoices and bank movements. The team solves problems with incorrect payments, creates and sends reminders, prepares financial statements, reports to management, and is responsible for the payroll. Our Front Desk team is also part of this department.

Technical Documentation

Clear and concise. The Technical Documentation department provides our customers, partners, and colleagues with technically sound and comprehensible product descriptions that are always up-to-date. The documentation work, for example, includes the regular maintenance of the online helps and the creation of update news and video tutorials. The professional writers and translators in our documentation team also take care of product-related corporate communications, for example in the form of mailings or newsletters to our existing customers and partners.

Human Resources

Our Human Resources (HR) department is responsible for all personnel-related issues. Administrative matters (employment contracts, certificates, references, etc.), personnel development (coordination, organization, conception and implementation, e.g. of trainings), personnel marketing (development and strengthening of an employer brand, employee retention, etc.), health management, recruiting and feel good management. In addition to all these tasks, we see ourselves as a strategic partner for all hierarchical levels in the company.

Legal

Last but not least, our in-house Legal Department ensures that law and order are maintained here at protel. 'Legal' monitors the constant flow of new legal statutory requirements and is the proactive first point of contact for the Upper Management of all departments with regards to all legal questions. From issues regarding labor law, compliance law, contractual law, IT law, through to civil law, the Legal Department represents and protects protel’s corporate interests in legal matters. Legal also guarantees release from liability, legally compliant documents, and appropriate legal insurance coverage.

Our products

Hotel Management Software
We offer our customers server-based as well as cloud-based solutions.
PMS Addons
Additional solutions such as mobile apps or a direct booking feature for the hotel homepage
Integrations
Our certified integrations connect thousands of third party systems to our hotel systems.

Mission & Vision

Since 1994 we have been developing software solutions for the hotel and restaurant industry - successfully and with passion. We always want to offer our customers the best solution and drive innovation forward. Everything with a clear vision — to be the architect of the most respected, most recommended and most purchased hotel technology solutions in the world.

Your job opportunities & perspectives

protel is made up of eight departments. Product Development and Support are our two largest departments and have the most open positions. Each department has various teams with different thematic orientations, which offer many possibilities. In general, the opportunities and perspectives at protel are diverse and we always try to deploy and develop our employees according to their abilities.
Career Ladder
  • Start small and get big? No problem! Many of our managers are from protel's own family and have successfully used and mastered the opportunities for advancement - from newbie to team leader to director or head of department.
Locations
  • Depending on the department, cross-location assignments in one of our branches, e.g. in Leipzig or Atlanta, are also possible. Wherever they are, the teams are always in close contact with each other across locations.
Inter-departmental
  • Everything routine? This can lead to on-the-job boredom and monotony. We offer the possibility of continuous further development so that you never get to the point of being bored in the first place. We do this through a wide range of varying and yet interconnected departments.
Intra-departmental
  • Your own department also has a lot to offer in terms of variety - you have the opportunity to expand your area of responsibility or even change teams within the department. This allows you to face new challenges and specialize in your field.

Our locations

Dortmund
Our headquarters are located in Dortmund, very close to the BVB football stadium and with a prominent neighborhood. The other branches are also managed from here.


Leipzig
Since January 2019, we have a further location in Leipzig - a pure support office. This additional office ensures valuable support for our customers and partners.


Vienna
With an office in Vienna's Millennium Tower, protel moved into one of the city's most beautiful addresses - our 100% subsidiary with employees from the sales and support departments is located there.
Atlanta
protel is also represented by a subsidiary in North America - in Atlanta and Canada, colleagues from business development and support are working hard to conquer the American market.

en_USEnglish
de_DEDeutsch en_USEnglish

Über Uns

Über Uns

protel ist einer der weltweit führenden Anbieter im Bereich Hotelmanagement-Software und das seit 1994. Unsere Technologie- und Servicelösungen werden in der protel-Zentrale in Dortmund entwickelt und von hier aus und über ein globales Händlernetzwerk auf der ganzen Welt vertrieben. Unser Motto: Erfahrung trifft Innovation. Unser Antrieb: Wir wollen die effizienteste Lösung für unsere Kunden in aller Welt. Das Ergebnis: Technik, die Spaß macht! Mit unseren Cloud- und On-premise-Lösungen setzen wir in der Hospitality-Branche immer wieder neue Maßstäbe – ob am Front Office, beim Online-Vertrieb oder mit rollenspezifischen Apps für Hotelmanager und ihre Teams.

Unsere Abteilungen

Product Development

Innerhalb des Product Developments vereinen wir zwei Bereiche, die Hand in Hand agieren: unseren breit aufgestellten Entwicklungsbereich mit gut 100 Mitarbeitern und das Produktmanagement mit ca. 15 Mitarbeitern. Unsere Entwicklungsteams arbeiten nach der agilen Scrum-Methode. So können wir schnell auf neue Anforderungen oder Trends reagieren, technisch anspruchsvolle und vielseitige Produkte entwickeln und spannende Projekte kontinuierlich vorantreiben. Unser Produktmanagement, überwiegend aus Mitarbeitern des Hotelfachs bestehend, ist für die Weiterentwicklung und Wartung der Hotellerie-Produktlösungen zuständig und arbeitet Seite an Seite mit den Support- und Sales-Teams. Ein entsprechend breites Produktwissen und -verständnis sowie ein Ohr immer am Markt machen schlussendlich den Unterschied. So erreichen wir heute die definierten Ziele – von der Analyse über die Planung, bis hin zur endgültigen Markteinführung – für die Produktlösungen von morgen.

Support

Lösungsorientiert und beratend: Unser breit aufgestelltes Support- und Installationsteam mit über 100 Produktexperten in Dortmund, Leipzig, Wien und Atlanta, installiert, schult und bietet besten Kundenservice und Support für die gesamte protel Produktpalette. Damit bieten wir einen 1st-Level Support für Tausende von Direktkunden, vorwiegend in Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Luxemburg und Nordamerika, sowie einen 2nd-Level-Support für unser Netzwerk von über 40 Partnerorganisationen weltweit. Technische und produktspezifische Schulungen für unsere eigenen Mitarbeiter, Partner und Kunden bieten wir darüber hinaus innerhalb unserer protel Academy an. So bleibt unsere Supportqualität immer auf einem konstant hohen Level.

Business Development

Unser Business Development ist für die strategische und operative Weiterentwicklung des Unternehmens verantwortlich, begleitet die überwiegend großen Kunden von der ersten Verkaufsphase bis zu Bereitstellung der Software und bleibt auch darüber hinaus kontinuierlicher Ansprechpartner. Dabei greift das Team auf ein großes, internationales Netzwerk zurück und repräsentiert das Unternehmen gemeinsam mit dem Sales-Team auf Messen. Ziel ist es, in jeder Hinsicht Verantwortung für eine qualitativ hochwertige Verkaufsberatung, eine detaillierte Rollout-Planung und -Ausführung, ein Eskalationsmanagement und präventive Unterstützungsmaßnahmen zu übernehmen. Der Kontakt zum Kunden hat dabei unsere oberste Priorität – nur so können Potenziale voll ausgeschöpft werden.

Marketing

Auf den Punkt und zielgruppenorientiert: Marketing ist ein zentraler Aspekt unserer Unternehmensführung – und elementar für unsere Ausrichtung am Markt. Dabei konzentriert sich unsere Marketingabteilung auf folgende drei Kernbereiche: 1. Impulse zu entdecken, die die Hotellerie entzünden; 2. Geschichten zu kreieren, um die protel-Botschaft in die Welt hinauszutragen; 3. die Wirksamkeit der protel-Botschaft durch Analysen zu überwachen. Nur so können wir zu jeder Zeit die protel-Außendarstellung vorantreiben und optimieren.

Sales

Vertriebskompetent und strategisch: Unser Sales-Team agiert in allen Phasen des Vertriebs – von der Leadgenerierung bis zum erfolgreichen Abschluss. Immer im Fokus: unsere Kunden und die effiziente Gestaltung der Vertriebsprozesse. Ob bei der Beratung und Durchführung von Produktpräsentationen von Neu- und Bestandskunden oder auf nationalen/internationalen Messen, wir sind permanenter Ansprechpartner für Verträge, Angebote und Produkte. So wird die Schnittstelle zu internen Fachbereichen und den weltweiten Vertriebspartnern gebildet.

Administration

Eine gute kaufmännische Verwaltung ist die Basis für gut funktionierende interne Prozesse. Unsere Abteilung Administration setzt sich aus drei Bereichen zusammen. Im Bereich Orders sind wir für die Bearbeitung von Aufträgen, Erstellung von Lizenzen und Berechnung aller Aufträge verantwortlich. Hier arbeiten wir eng mit unserem Sales-Team zusammen. Im Bereich Accounting ist alles rund um die Buchhaltung angesiedelt: Wir verbuchen Rechnungen, Bankbewegungen, klären Probleme bei falschen Zahlungen, erstellen und versenden Mahnungen, erstellen Abschlüsse, machen Auswertungen für die Geschäftsleitung und sind für die Lohnabrechnung zuständig. Zudem ist unsere Rezeption in dieser Abteilung angesiedelt.

Technical Documentation

Technische Produkte verlangen nach einer technisch fundierten Dokumentation. Zu unserer „technischen Kommunikation“ zählen vor allem die eigentliche Dokumentationsarbeit, zum Beispiel die regelmäßige Pflege der Online-Hilfen, die Erstellung von Update-News und Video-Tutorials, aber auch die Unternehmenskommunikation, zum Beispiel in Form von Mailings oder Newslettern, Redaktion von offiziellen Dokumenten wie Vertragsvorlagen etc., Übersetzungen (englisch, französisch) und Pflege des protel Wikis – im weitesten Sinne also alles, was zur schriftlichen Beschreibung und Darstellung unserer Produkte für Protelianer, protel Partner und -Kunden (und den Rest der Welt 🙂 ) gehört. Deshalb geht es bei uns immer auch um Qualitätssicherung durch die Etablierung von sprachlichen Standards, sei es für die Terminologie unserer Software oder das Schreiben von Kunden-E-Mails.

Human Resources

Unsere Human Resources (HR) Abteilung ist für alle Themen rund um das Personal zuständig. Administratives (Arbeitsverträge, Bescheinigungen, Arbeitszeugnisse, etc.), Personalentwicklung (Koordination, Organisation, Konzeption und Durchführung z. B. von Trainings), Personalmarketing (Aufbau und Stärkung einer Arbeitgebermarke, Mitarbeiterbindung, etc.), Gesundheitsmanagement, Recruiting und Feel Good Management. Neben all diesen Bereichen verstehen wir uns vor allem auch als strategischer Partner für alle Hierarchieebenen im Unternehmen.

Legal

Last but not least sorgt unsere Inhouse-Rechtsabteilung für Recht und Ordnung und behält den Überblick in der Flut der §§. „Legal“ berät Geschäftsführung und Abteilungsleiter proaktiv und ist deren erster Ansprechpartner für alle Rechtsfragen. Von A wie Arbeitsrecht, über Compliance, IT- und Vertragsrecht bis zu Z wie Zivilrecht: Legal vertritt maßgeschneidert protels rechtliche Interessen. Als Risikomanager gewährleistet Legal außerdem Enthaftung, rechtssichere Dokumente und passenden Versicherungsschutz.

Unsere Produkte

Hotel Management Software
Wir bieten unseren Kunden sowohl server- als auch cloudbasierte Lösungen an
PMS Addons
Zusätzliche Lösungen wie Apps oder Direktbuchungen über die eigene Homepage
Interfaces
Unsere Schnittstellen sind zertifiziert und bieten absolute Sicherheit

Mission & Vision

Seit 1994 entwickeln wir Software-Lösungen für die Hotellerie und Gastronomie - erfolgreich und mit Leidenschaft. Dabei wollen wir unseren Kunden stets die beste Lösung anbieten und treiben Innovationen voran. Alles mit einer klaren Vision: To be the architect of the most respected, most recommended and most purchased hotel technology solutions in the world.

Deine Einsatzmöglichkeiten & Perspektiven

protel besteht aus acht Abteilungen. In unseren zwei größten Abteilungen Product Development und Support suchen wir am meisten Verstärkung. Dort gibt es viele unterschiedliche Teams mit unterschiedlichen thematischen Ausrichtungen und vielen Möglichkeiten. Generell sind die Möglichkeiten und Perspektiven bei protel vielfältig und wir versuchen immer, unsere Mitarbeiter ihren Fähigkeiten entsprechend einzusetzen und weiterzuentwickeln.
Karriereleiter
  • Klein anfangen und groß rauskommen? Kein Problem. Viele unserer heutigen Führungskräfte sind protel-Eigengewächse und haben die Aufstiegschancen - vom Mitarbeiter, über den Teamleiter, bis hin zum Director oder Abteilungsleiter erfolgreich genutzt und gemeistert.
Standorte
  • Mal raus aus Dortmund? Je nach Abteilung sind auch standortübergreifende Einsätze in einer unserer Niederlassungen z. B. in Leipzig oder in Atlanta möglich. Aber auch so stehen die Teams auch standortübergreifend im engen Kontakt miteinander.
Abteilungsübergreifend
  • Alles Routine? Das kann im Job gerne mal zu Langeweile und Monotonie führen. Damit es bei uns gar nicht erst soweit kommt, bieten wir die Möglichkeit der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung. Und das in unterschiedlichsten, aber übergreifenden Abteilungen.
Abteilungsintern
  • Auch die eigene Abteilung hat viel Abwechslung zu bieten - so besteht häufig die Möglichkeit, den Aufgabenbereich zu erweitern oder sogar das Team abteilungsintern zu wechseln. Du kannst dich somit neuen Herausforderungen stellen und dich auch fachlich spezialisieren.

Unsere Standorte

Dortmund
Unser Headquarter befindet sich in Dortmund, ganz in der Nähe des BVB-Fußballstadions und mit prominenter Nachbarschaft. Hier werden auch die anderen Niederlassungen verwaltet.
Leipzig
Seit Januar 2019 haben wir einen weiteren Standort in Leipzig - ein reines Support-Office. Dieses zusätzliche Office gewährleistet eine wertvolle Unterstützung für unsere Kunden und Partner.
Wien
Mit einem Büro im Wiener Millenium Tower hat protel eine der schönsten Adressen der Stadt bezogen - hier sitzt unsere 100%ige Tochterfirma mit Mitarbeitern aus den Abteilungen Sales und Support.
Atlanta
Auch in Nordamerika ist protel mit einer Tochterfirma vertreten - in Atlanta und in Kanada erobern Kollegen aus dem Business Development und dem Support den amerikanischen Markt.
de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch